Damita Set to Release 3rd Album “Anticipation” July 24

If you had to name an artist that captures the depth of Gospel, the exciting sounds of R&B, and the fun of pop music, songstress Damita definitely fits the bill. With an eclectic mix of musical influences including: Clark Sisters, Rance Allen, The Winans, Michael Jackson, Aretha Franklin, Tina Turner, Sting, Celine Dion, and ColdPlay; Damita’s projects offer something that’s not only enticing to the ear but also soothing to the soul.

If you thought her 2008 hit ‘No Looking Back’ had people buzzing about this vocal standout, then just wait until you hear her new CD, Anticipation.

Described as a true gem, Anticipation features many songs written by Damita including, “Won’t Turn Back”, “Praise You Now”, “Be Revealed”, “You’re Amazing God”, “Super She’RO and the title cut “Anticipation (Waitin 4 u)”.

When asked how this album differs from previous projects she stated, “It is different in perspective to the position I was in naturally, mentally and spiritually. When recording No Looking Back I was making a definitive decision to move forward with my music and accepting the path God was leading me on. This Anticipation project was a build up of a long waited follow-up or sequel to what we started on NLB (no looking back)”.

Finishing this masterpiece did come with its share of obstacles. Not only did Damita step into a new role of creative leadership by writing and co-producing every song but she also faced a great personal tragedy that rocked her to the core. During the early production phase of Anticipation, Damita lost her biggest supporter, her mom Ruby Bass: “It was enough to take me out because it was unexpected…,” Damita explains, “She was my anchor, my supporter, my prayer warrior who prayed everything through for me.”

Yes, Damita suffered a loss, but she gained strength from God and was inspired to pen more songs and completeAnticipation. All of the songs were birthed from a sincere place in her heart, especially the track Super She’Ro: “Super She’Ro was inspired by my mother who recently passed. The day before she died she told me she always believed in me and that she completely supports me in whatever it is I decided to do with my life.

Anticipation is great mixture of relevant and transparent material reaching listeners where they are and encouraging them to press forward into destiny. Damita is forever evolving in so many areas of her life and it is evident, as a singer, songwriter, minister and woman of destiny, God is truly doing a new thing in her life.

Leave a comment